Skip to content


Editorial Board


Ying Lou, BioMed Central

Section Editors

Protein and enzyme technology
Ayelet Fishman, Technion, Israel

Cellular and tissue engineering
Joaquim M Cabral, Instituto Superior Tecnico, Portugal

Microbial biotechnology
Dennis Claessen, Leiden University, Netherlands
Peter J Punt, TNO Microbiology & Systems Biology/Leiden University, Netherlands

Applied immunology
Marko Radic, University of Tennessee, USA

RNAi mechanisms and applications
John J Rossi, Beckman Research Institute City of Hope, USA

Proteomics and drug discovery
Igor Stagljar, University of Toronto, Canada

Plant biotechnology
Neal C Stewart, University of Tennessee, USA

Hyung Joon Cha, Pohang University of Science and Technology​​​​​, Republic of Korea

Systems and synthetic biology
Ting Lu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA

Associate Editors

Applied immunology
Mahendra Deonarain, Imperial College London, UK
Nishant Dwivedi, Harvard Medical School, USA 
Jeanni Fehrsen, Onderstepoort Veterinary Institute, South Africa
Michael Hust, Technische Universität Braunschweig, Germany
Richard Pleass, Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine, UK

Cellular and tissue engineering
Paula Alves, ITQB, Universidade Nova, Portugal
Cláudia Lobato da Silva, Technical University of Lisbon, Portugal
Athanasios Mantalaris, Imperial College London, UK
Todd C McDevitt, Gladstone Institutes San Francisco, USA
Sean Palecek, University of Wisconsin - Madison, USA
Kaiming Ye, National Science Foundation, USA

Genetic engineering in animals and animal cell systems
Sheng-Hao Chao, Bioprocessing Technology Institute, Singapore
Hans J Lipps, University of Witten, Germany
Dirk E Martens, Wageningen University, Netherlands
Enoch Y Park, Shizuoka University, Japan
Hideki Yamaji, Kobe University, Japan
Hui Yang, Institute of Neuroscience, China
Lang Zhuo, Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology, Singapore

Genome technology and molecular diagnostics
Juerg Frey, Agroscope Changins-Wädenswil Research Station ACW, Switzerland
Tom Gaunt, University of Bristol, UK
Zhen Kang, Jiangnan University, China 
Jiazhang Lian, Zhejiang University, China
Yunzi Luo, Sichuan University, China
Sascha Sauer, Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics, Germany
Shuobo Shi, Beijing University of Chemical Technology, China 

Microbial biotechnology
Kenneth Bruno, USA
Brigitte Gasser, BOKU-University of Natural Resources and Applied Life Sciences Vienna, Austria
Liam Good, Royal Veterinary College, UK
Levente Karaffa, University of Debrecen, Hungary
Rup Lal, University of Delhi, India
Xiaozhou Luo, Joint Bioenergy Institute, USA
Radhakrishnan Mahadevan, University of Toronto, Canada
Chiara Schiraldi, Second University of Naples, Italy
Matthias Steiger, University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Austria
Xiaoyun Su, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, China
Nigel Ternan, University of Ulster, UK
Siouxsie Wiles, University of Auckland, New Zealand

Plant biotechnology
Zsófia Bánfalvi, Agricultural Biotechnology Center, Hungary
Teodoro Cardi, CRA-Research Centre for Vegetable Crops, Italy
Tony Conner, The New Zealand Institute for Plant & Food Research, New Zealand
Udo Conrad, IPK, Gatersleben, Germany
Cory Nykiforuk, SemBioSys Genetics, Canada
Erkki Truve, Tallinn University of Technology, Estonia

Protein and enzyme technology
Hyung Joon Cha, Pohang University of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea
Patrick Cirino, University of Houston, USA
Man Bock Gu, Korea University, Republic of Korea
Rani Gupta, University of Delhi, India
Israel Hanukoglu, Ariel University, Israel 
Shengying Li, Qingdao Institute of Bioenergy and Bioprocess Technology, China
Ligia Martins, Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal
Martin Rebros, Slovak University of Technology, Slovakia
Scott Rudge, RMC Pharmaceutical Solutions, Inc., USA
Tatsuya Sawasaki, Ehime University, Japan

Proteomics and drug discovery
Michael Danquah, Monash University, Australia
Thomas Kislinger, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, Canada 
Yvonne Perrie, Aston University, UK
Yasmin Sultana, Hamdard University, India
Feng Wang-Johanning, University of Alabama, USA
Danke Xu, Nanjing University, China

RNAi mechanisms and applications
Soonhag Kim, CHA University, Republic of Korea
Pumin Zhang, Baylor College of Medicine, USA

Systems and Synthetic Biology
Hua Li, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
Yi Wang, Auburn University, USA

Editorial Advisors
William Bentley, University of Maryland, USA
Jeffrey L Cleland, Targesome, Inc., USA
Richard N Day, Indiana University School of Medicine, USA
Maurice C Franssen, Wageningen University, Netherlands
Alfonso Gutierrez-Adan, Department of Animal Reproduction, INIA, Spain
Peter J Halling, University of Strathclyde, UK
Gen Larsson, AlbaNova University Center, Sweden
James F Leary, Purdue University, USA
Mahmoud Mahmoudian, GlaxoSmithKline R&D, UK
Krishna A Mallia, Pierce Biotechnology Inc, USA
Hugh S Mason, Arizona State University, USA
Jeremy Minshull, DNA 2.0, USA
Derrick Rancourt, University of Calgary, Canada
Daniel Scherman, INSERM, France
Ann Christine Syvanen, Uppsala University, Sweden
Mathias Uhlen, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden
Robert J Wall, ARS-USDA, USA